What are the negatives in working in a too-good-to-be-true offices like Google?

Standard

What are the negatives in working in a too-good-to-be-true offices like Google? by Sadia Hdydi

Answer by Sadia Hdydi:

I was offered a job at a company (not Google) with similar perks: free food on site, a margarita machine that was always on, campus gym, etc. I was in my 30s and a single mother. Those “perks” were a massive turn off for me, because I knew that they signaled a desire for employees whose entire life would revolve around work. When I brought up my concerns to the recruiter who was trying to convince me to take the job, she said, “Oh, don’t worry. There are a couple of people who have on their calendars, ‘No meetings after 6:00.’”

I didn’t want my coworkers to perceive me as a slacker because I had life responsibilities outside the office. Instead, I went to do essentially the same job for a company that paid the same amount, but gave me the flexibility to be both the mother and employee that I want to be. I spend 8–10 hours in the office most days and am happy to put in extra hours once my children are asleep, but from 6:00 pm–9:00 pm on weekdays and on weekends, my attention and time belongs to my children.

I work smart and hard, instead of long. An all-inclusive job environment is great for recent college graduates, but those of us who see our careers as an important part of life, rather than all of life, don’t enjoy or want those perks.

What are the negatives in working in a too-good-to-be-true offices like Google?

About AvatarNemo

V: Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished. However, this valourous visitation of a bygone vexation stands vivified and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin vanguarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition! The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous. Verily, this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it's my very good honour to meet you and you may call me V.

Leave a Reply

